travel & lifestyle blog by ruth dela cruz


Yahoo! OMG Philippines Named the Nominees for the First Purple-Carpet Awards Night

June 18, 2011

What was your very first email address? Mine was in format. After that email registration (which I think was 12 years ago), my “online relationship” with Yahoo! just strengthen as I also explored and registered with other Yahoo! website and application services such as Flikr and Yahoo Messenger (YM).

Yahoo!, being the premiere digital media company and it continues to provide what the market, netizens and social media people’s needs. Last Thursday, at the Opus Restaurant in Resorts World Manila, Yahoo! announced the launch of the OMG! Awards. It is the first of its kind event that will recognize the most searched celebrities on its newest and leading property in the Philippines. It is time to prepare the red purple carpet as Yahoo! OMG recognize the top trending celebrities and those who have propelled to stardom in cyberspace and used the power of the Internet to reach their fans.

The awarding would be on Tuesday, June 21st and would be hosted by JM Rodriguez and Andi Manzano. Someday Dream, Johnhoy Danao and UP Dharma Down will perform during the night. There would also be a purple themed fashion show by local fashion designers, Joey Samson, Jun Escario and Kate Torralba.

The Yahoo! team would produce an event in a greater heights of social media with live blogging from Cosplay Queen, Alodia Gosengfiao.

The nominees are:

Hottest Actor:
Piolo Pascual
Diether Ocampo
Aljur Abrenica
Jericho Rosales

Hottest Actress:
Marian Rivera
Angel Locsin
Jennylyn Mercado
Anne Curtis

Funniest Comedian:
Vice Ganda
Vic Sotto
Vhong Navarro
Michael V

Funniest Comedienne:
Eugene Domingo
Ai Ai delas Alas
Tuesday Vargas

Breakthrough Artist – Male:
JM De Guzman
Enchong Dee
Derek Ramsay
Coco Martin

Breakthrough Artist – Female:
Solenn Heussaff
Cristine Reyes
Bela Padilla
Andi Eigenmann

Awesome Young Actor:
Sam Concepcion
Albie Casino
Enrique Gil
Robi Domingo

Awesome Young Actress:
Kathryn Bernardo
Julia Montes
Barbie Forteza
Bea Binene

Favorite TV Host – Male:
Willie Revillame
Luis Manzano
Vice Ganda
Vic Sotto
Mo Twister

Favorite TV Host – Female:
Alodia Gosiengfiao
Shalani Soledad
Pia Guanio
Toni Gonzaga

Amazing Newcomer – Male:
Mikael Daez
Alden Richards
Diego Loyzaga
Renz Fernandez

Amazing Newcomer – Female:
Louise delos Reyes
Ritz Azul
Coleen Garcia
Jasmine Curtis

Coolest Singer – Male:
Jovit Baldivino
Kean Cipriano
Christian Bautista
Rico Blanco

Coolest Singer – Female:
Regine Velasquez
Sarah Geronimo

Coolest Band:
General Luna
Parokya ni Edgar
Up Dharma Down

Designer of the Year:
Jun Escario
Rosanna Ocampo
Kate Torralba
Joey Samson
Rajo Laurel

Ermin Lemuel Oliva, Country Editor, Philippines, shared “To determine the winners in each category, our editors will do a thorough trend analysis by assessing the percentage increase in the online searches to identify the most-searched Filipino celebrities. From this short-list readers will be asked to vote for their favorite.”

Johnhoy is so popular in social media and Youtube
– and it was my first time to see him and hear him perform live!

Fabio Ide and Lani Pillinger invited us to the big awarding on June 21st

If you have missed voting on your favorite celebrities, please like the Yahoo! Philippines Facebook Fanpage at for updates, and follow Tweets regarding the event at There is also a Flikr page where we can share photos with our favorite celebrities at

The Yahoo! OMG would be presented by Wi-Tribe and sponsored by Ponds, Sunsilk, and Clear. What’s exciting is that OMG icons would be escorted in luxury cards provided by Jaguar and Land Rover, while Pernod Ricard, producer and distributor of premium wines and spirits would overflow in this purple-carpet event.

Are you excited? I am! Eventhough you can’t be there physically, you can be there “social media-ly”. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *